316 Rolling resto and upgrades

polov8
E21 Pro
My E21(s): '83 Polaris silver 316

316 Rolling resto and upgrades

Post by polov8 »

Well, a month in, so I'm new to E21's, having craved one for the best part of 20 years, but not new to old German cars and welding, which I guess stands me in good stead! I picked this up off the bay, last owner had it for 25 years, and it's got a full stack of receipts from his local BMW dealership cataloging every part fitted since 1987!

It had a couple of weeks MOT on it, but I figured I'd not drive it till it'd been through a test, so I started off by fixing the things that were most wrong with it, ie a bit of corrosion on the jacking points on the sills, and at the "not a jacking point" just behind the front wheel. The latter looked least fun, so I began there....

weird lump in the floor, looks like someone attempted to jack it.

Throttle pedal bracket doesn't look too clever either

First removed the bare minimum of the sound deadening

Angle grinder time

Reconstructed the back of the wheel arch first

Made the inner sill section, and floor plate (all the silver paint is upol zinc rich weld through primer)

Time to have a look under the throttle bracket..

Decided to replace the bottom section of the bracket

Cleaned up and new bottom piece fabricated

Welded in place

Seam sealered and painted, phase one complete!

Next stop, front sill jacking point....
Last edited by polov8 on Sat Nov 09, 2013 2:37 pm, edited 4 times in total.

Andy
pic
Upcoming E21 fanatic

Re: Polov8's 316 Rolling resto and upgrades

Post by pic »

Nice job! :thumbsup
Jeroen
Site Admin
My E21(s): '81 323i Baur

Post by Jeroen »

Defo, real clean car and a great job! Any other rust spots apart from the drivers side foowell? You should just shoot the guy that just threw the jack under the floor!
Regards/groeten, Jeroen
polov8
E21 Pro

Post by polov8 »